Yuri Hauswald

Sponsors: Marin Bikes/GU Energy Labs/Kaenon/Giro/Kitsbow/Capo/Atom Composites

How long you have been with WTB: Off and on for 15 years

Age: 45

Discipline: Endurance XC and Gravel Racing

Hometown: Petaluma, CA

Favorite place to ride: Stanley, ID, Boulder White Cloud Mountains

Fun fact: I didn't pick up a bike until I was 24, and turned pro at the tender age of 36.

How WTB contributes to your success? With the best saddles on the market, WTB as had my back side, literally, for years. Considering the amount of time I spend training/racing, my Silverado has keep my comfy for years. 

How you got started out competing? I picked up a mountain bike when I was 24 while I was teaching at a prep school back east. I immediately feel in love with the adventure/freedom that it inspired. And, being a very competitive bastard, I started racing in the Sport category and got my ass handed to me. 

First experience with a bike: Ranger Rick themed kids bike that had solid rubber wheels. Was a gift from my grandfather. Think I was 9 or 10 when I got it. 

Who do you look up to? My wife. Having watched her battle stage 4 colon cancer I can't think of anyone tougher.......or more resilient or vibrant or full of life.

Other activities(off the bike): There're other activities that don't involve a bike? Huh?! I like to hike with my Rhodesian Ridgeback, Kingston, and surf.

Beverage of Choice: Lagunitas makes some pretty darn good libations.

Place you have always wanted to ride: Portugal. Hey, maybe Weir and I can go do the XC stage race there?! He's almost as old and grizzled as me!

Instagram handle:@YHAUSWALD
Facebook page link: